close search ×
A wooden gavel on its stand beside a pair of handcuffs and a syringe on a polished wooden surface, symbolizing law enforcement and judiciary authority.

Bergen County Drug DWI Attorney

Drug DWI Attorney in Paramus, NJ

A close-up image of a hand-to-hand transaction between two people in Bergen County, where one person is handing over a small sealed packet in exchange for coins.

Driving under the influence is a very serious offense in New Jersey. The term “under the influence” is typically associated with drunk driving because of alcohol consumption. However, if you drive under the influence of a controlled substance, you may still be charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey. Any sort of impaired driving is considered a violation of the law. If you are charged with a Drug DWI in New Jersey, the consequences you may face are significant and can follow you for years down the road. It is also important to note that if you are found to be in possession of a controlled substance during the traffic stop, you may also face drug possession charges, which may result in jail time and additional fines. If you have been charged with an offense of this nature, contact a Bergen County drug DWI attorney from The Law Office of Attorney Conway today.

Consequences of Drug DWI in Bergen County, NJ

New Jersey law defines being under the influence as “a substantial deterioration or diminution of the mental faculties or physical capabilities” of a person who is intoxicated by liquor, a narcotic, or a habit-producing drug. Just like many other offenses, the penalties increase in severity as the number of previous offenses the person has on his or her record.

First Offense Drug DWI

If you are facing charges for a first-offense Drug DWI, you may be subject to the following penalties:

  • A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension between 7 and 12 months
  • $1,000 surcharge each year for 3 years
  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device

Second Offense Drug DWI

If you have been charged with a Drug DWI in New Jersey for the second time within ten years of the previous violation, your penalties will be escalated. The consequences are as follows:

  • Fines between $500 and $1000
  • Incarceration for at least 48 hours but not for more than 90 days
  • 30 days of community service (if the offense took place in a school zone, 60 days)
  • Driver’s license suspension for 2 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for between 1 and 3 years after license restoration
  • Several other fees and fines

Third or Subsequent Offense Drug DWI

If you are charged with a Drug DWI for the third or subsequent time within 10 years, the penalties include the following:

  • A $1000 fine
  • Incarceration for at least 180 days
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Various mandatory fines and fees
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

Contact a NJ Drug DWI Attorney

If you have been charged with driving under the influence of a controlled substance in New Jersey, your future is on the line. Such a conviction can result in serious penalties and even a limitation on possible future jobs and other opportunities. Therefore, it is essential to retain the services of an attorney with the experience it takes to explore all possible defenses for your case. Contact The Law Office of Attorney Conway today for strong legal representation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by