Multiple DWI Offense Attorney in New Jersey
When an individual drives under the influence of alcohol in the state of New Jersey, law enforcement looks to hold the offender accountable for his or her actions. This is especially true when the individual is a repeat offender of driving while intoxicated for the third or subsequent time. New Jersey increases the penalties for each DWI offense that an individual has on their record, with a third or subsequent being the worst. If you have been convicted of previous offenses, you know that the penalties are already severe. For individuals charged with a third DWI, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced defense attorney that has a record of success. The Law Office of Attorney Conway is here to help. Contact our firm today.
Consequences of a Third or Subsequent DWI Conviction
When someone is charged with a criminal offense, it is important that they have an understanding of the consequences they are up against if convicted. For a third or subsequent DWI, the penalties are as follows:
- Up to 180 days of jail time
- An 8-year loss of license with an interlock installed during that time
- 2-4 years with an interlock device after privileges are restored
- A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
- A $1000 fine
- A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services fund fee
It is important to be aware that while there are a number of penalties associated with a third DWI, an experienced attorney can explore certain defenses that may make all evidence inadmissible, including a violation of the 20-minute rule, failure to properly administer field sobriety tests and an illegal traffic stop.
Ignition Interlock Devices
New Jersey drivers who are convicted of a third or subsequent DWI are typically required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. This is true for the time that their license is suspended, which in this case is 10 years, and also for 1-3 years after it is restored. This device requires that the individual takes a breath test each time they get behind the wheel in order for the vehicle to start. If the device detects that the individual has any alcohol on their breath, the car will not start. The individual will also be responsible for the installation fees and other costs associated with the device.
One of the more surprising laws of New Jersey involves allowing an intoxicated person to operate your vehicle. In some cases, you may actually believe that you are doing the right thing allowing your friend or family to take the wheel because you are too intoxicated. Be aware, if you allow someone to drive your vehicle and they are arrested for a DWI, the fact that you allowed them to operate the vehicle could subject you to the same consequences. If you have been arrested as a repeat offender, you could face harsher penalties than the person driving.
Contact a Bergen County DWI Attorney
If you have been charged with a third or subsequent DWI in New Jersey, contact The Law Office of Attorney Conway as soon as possible. Our firm will do everything possible to protect your future and defend your rights, using all possible defenses. We are not only effective trial attorneys, but we are also compassionate legal professionals that recognize the hardship you are facing. If you need an attorney that will fight for you, contact The Law Office of Attorney Conway today.