close search ×
red traffic light

Will I Get Points on My License for Running a Red Light in New Jersey?

Intersections can be dangerous and traffic lights offer drivers a safe way through. When a driver decides to disregard the rules of the road and run a red light, it can result in serious consequences. Another car may have a green light and enter the intersection at the same time, resulting in a crash. Or a pedestrian may be crossing the street because they have the walking light and get struck by the offending vehicle. The potential damage that running a red light can cause is the reason that the punishment is severe. If you are caught running a red light you could face penalties including fines, jail time, and points on your license.

For assistance with your red light case and to ensure your rights are protected, work with a Bergen County traffic violation attorney.

What Are Points on Your License?

Points on your license are similar to a demerit system in school. In New Jersey, when you are convicted of a moving violation you can have points added to your license. If you accrue 6 points within 3 years you will be charged with fines and your insurance rates will certainly increase. If you reach 12 total points your license will be suspended.

Points are only given for moving violations in an automobile. Any bike, pedestrian, or parking ticket will not result in additional points.

What Are the Penalties for Running a Red Light in NJ?

Running a red light can be accompanied by various consequences. The penalties will vary depending on the circumstances of your situation, but in general someone who is caught running a red light will face:

  • Fines ranging from $50 to $200
  • Up to 15 days in jail
  • 2 points on their license

It is important to note that perpetrators will rarely face jail time for running a red light. However, for those who caused an accident or when other aggravating factors were involved, jail time is an option.

Can I Avoid Getting Points on My License?

If you already have points and don’t want to add more or this conviction will cause your license to be suspended, you may be able to avoid the points. New Jersey drivers can plead to what is known as a “no-point ticket” for unsafe operation. This statute allows drivers to avoid points and the repercussions of accumulating too many points. However, you can’t use this route too often.

You can plead to this charge twice within five years. It may be a better option for your situation but there are increased monetary penalties so it may not be the best choice for you. The penalties for a no-point unsafe operation ticket are as follows.

  • For your first offense: Fines ranging from $50 to $150 and a surcharge of $250
  • For your second offense: Fines ranging from $100 to $250 and a surcharge of $250
  • For your third offense: Fines ranging from $200 to $500, a surcharge of $250, and 4 points
Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by