To learn more about the consequences of counterfeit crimes in New Jersey, reach out to our skilled Bergen County criminal defense attorney today. Our legal team is on your side no matter what.
What are counterfeit crimes in New Jersey?
Counterfeiting involves the intention to mislead by manufacturing, using, displaying, advertising, distributing, offering for sale, selling, or possessing with the plan to sell for money a counterfeit item or service that has a counterfeit mark within the state of New Jersey.
Counterfeiting is usually misinterpreted as a forgery. Forgery charges typically apply to false documents used to defraud, such as bad checks, false identification cards (e.g., driver’s license or birth certificate), or illegitimate contracts. Counterfeiting charges in New Jersey can be used for the manufacture, possession, and distribution of fake currency or a variety of other phony trademarks and products, such as name-brand clothing and accessories, pharmaceuticals, or personal electronics. Counterfeiting is primarily referred to as a federal crime. However, New Jersey courts will charge counterfeiting convictions under state law, too. Reach out to our firm today to learn more about this conviction and your legal options if you were charged.
What are the penalties for counterfeiting?
The consequences for counterfeiting in New Jersey are based on the number of counterfeit items the defendant possessed, their retail value (if authentic), and any prior charges of counterfeiting against the defendant. For a charge to be filed, the defendant must possess or have control of at least 25 items that are allegedly counterfeit.
A first counterfeiting offense involving fewer than 100 items and a total retail value of less than $1,000 is a fourth-degree offense punishable by up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
A second counterfeiting offense or an offense involving 100 or more items but fewer than 1,000 and a total retail value of $1,000 to less than $15,000 is a third-degree offense punishable by 3 to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
A third or subsequent counterfeiting offense or an offense involving 1,000 items or more and a total retail value of $15,000 or more is a second-degree offense punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000.
If you have been charged with counterfeiting, no matter how many offenses, our firm can help. Give us a call today to discuss the details of your case and your legal options.
CONTACT OUR FIRM
Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.