Drive Safe This Fourth of July

Because the Fourth of July is such a fun, relaxing day, people often get carried away and have one too many to drink. If you find yourself in this situation, it is imperative you either spend the night or find a ride home from someone who is not under the influence. Whatever you do, do not get behind the wheel of your car and think you can make it home. Police will be out looking for those who do, so it is important you think before you act. If you find yourself facing a DWI charge, you may have several questions regarding the potential consequences of your decision. Here are some questions you may have:

What are the potential penalties I may face for a first offense DWI in the state of New Jersey?

If you are stopped and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08%-0.10%, here are some of the penalties you may face:

  • 3-month license suspension
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

If your BAC was even higher than 0.10%, then there is a good chance the potential penalties may be even harsher, including a $300-$500 fine and a 7-12 month license suspension.

What are the potential consequences of a second offense DWI in the state of New Jersey?

Some of the harsh penalties you may face if you find yourself convicted of a second offense DWI are:

  • 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

What are the penalties of a third or subsequent offense DWI?

If this is your third or subsequent offense, you cannot afford waste any time. You must contact an experienced lawyer today. The state of New Jersey is very harsh on drunk drivers, and the courts will have little to no sympathy for you if this is your third time being charged. If you are facing your third or subsequent offense, you may be charged with:

  • A 10-year loss of your license
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

If you or someone you know was charged with a traffic violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway today.