Everything You Need to Know About DWI Consequences in New Jersey

dwi charge new jersey

It is illegal to drive while intoxicated in any state. New Jersey takes this very seriously and works hard to prevent drunk driving. Those convicted of a DWI can face serious consequences as a result of their actions. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney if you are facing these charges.

First Offense Consequences

Individuals who are found driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit of 0.08% but under 0.10% for the first time can face the following consequences:

  • License suspension until the date of installation of the ignition interlock device, then the interlock device remains on the vehicle for 3 months
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (consecutive days or overnight)
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Drivers who have a BAC between .10% and .15% can face a license suspension until they install an interlock device. This must be installed for 7-12 months. If their BAC is more than .15%, they may face a license suspension for 4-6 months with an ignition interlock device for 9-15 months after driving privileges are restored.

Second Offense Consequences

Drivers found with a BAC of .08% or more for a second time can face the following penalties: 

  • Up to 90 days of jail time
  • A 1-2 year loss of license
  • Interlock device installation during the term of license suspension¬†
  • 2-4 years interlock installation after privileges restored
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (overnight)
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Third Offense Consequences

Drivers who receive a third DWI charge within 10 years of the first charge can face the following consequences:

  • 180 days of jail time (90 of which can be spent in an inpatient facility)
  • An 8-year loss of license with an interlock installed during the term
  • 2-4 years interlock after privileges are restored
  • IDRC referral
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services fund fee

Contact our Firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.