Fourth of July DWI Charges in New Jersey

Fourth of July DWI Charges in New Jersey

Over the weekend, many people attended Fourth of July parties. Often, these parties involve alcoholic beverages. Consequently, some people make the life-threatening decision to drive while intoxicated. New Jersey takes DWI charges seriously. As a result, it is important to understand the consequences of a DWI. Read on to learn more.

New Jersey’s DWI Penalties

If you are pulled over and you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%-0.09%, and this is your first DWI, you may face the following penalties:

  • 3-month license suspension
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

It is important to note that, for your first offense, if your BAC was greater than 0.10%, you will likely face harsher penalties, including a $300-$500 fine and a 7-12 month license suspension.

If you are charged with a DWI for a second time, you will be considered a repeat offender, and your consequences will be even harsher. These consequences may include: 

  • 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

The penalties for a third DWI in New Jersey may include:

  • A 10-year loss of your license
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years

If you are facing charges for a DWI in New Jersey, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Our firm will explore all possible avenues of defense. Reach out today to discuss your case with a skilled and dedicated attorney. We understand that people make mistakes and we are here to advocate for you.

CONTACT OUR FIRM

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs