How Will BAC Impact First-Offense DWIs in New Jersey?

Since New Jersey has recently updated its DWI laws, set to go into effect December 1, 2019, you should know how the level of your intoxication at the time of your arrest will impact the penalties you face. Please read on and reach out to our compassionate firm to learn more about what you are up against, and how we can help. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding your legal options going forward:

What happens if I am convicted with a first-offense DWI with a BAC between 0.8% and 0.10%?

If you have been arrested with a BAC of .08% to .10%, you may face the following penalties:

  • A 30-day license forfeiture
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to 6 months

What if I am charged with a first-offense DWI with a BAC of .10% to .15%?

The state of New Jersey takes those who are severely impaired at the time of their arrest very seriously. If you find yourself arrested with a BAC between .10% and .15%, you may face the following consequences:

  • A 45-day license forfeiture
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • Between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to 1 year

What happens if I am charged with a first-offense DWI with a BAC higher than .15% in New Jersey?

If you have been charged with a BAC higher than .15%, the simple fact that it is only your first offense will not keep you out of jail. Though New Jersey has become slightly more lenient in its drunk driving laws in terms of criminal punishment, you will most likely face job-ending consequences. They are as follows:

  • A 90-day license forfeiture
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • Between 12 and 48 hours spent in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to 18 months

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs