Memorial Day Weekend DWI in New Jersey | What to Know

Many people spend Memorial Day Weekend surrounded by loved ones, honoring and celebrating those who fought for our country. For many people, this celebration will include alcohol. While this is perfectly acceptable, it can become dangerous when partygoers make the decision to drink and drive. DWIs are taken very seriously in New Jersey. As a result, it is important to understand their consequences and what to do if you are facing charges. Read on to learn more.

A Breakdown of DWI Penalties in New Jersey:

The penalties you face for a DWI vary depending on two main factors- your BAC and your prior offenses.

If you are pulled over and you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%-0.09%, and this is your first DWI, you may face the following penalties:

  • 3-month license suspension
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

If your BAC was greater than 0.10%, you will most likely face even harsher penalties, including a $300-$500 fine and a 7-12 month license suspension.

If you are charged with a DWI for a second time, you will be considered a repeat offender, and your consequences will be even harsher. These consequences may include: 

  • 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

A third DWI charge is incredibly serious and can mean losing your license for good. The penalties for a third DWI in New Jersey may include:

  • A 10-year loss of your license
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years

Our firm understands that people make mistakes and we are here to advocate for you.  If you or a loved one is facing charges for a DWI in New Jersey, reach out today to speak with a skilled and dedicated criminal defense attorney.

CONTACT OUR FIRM

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs