Police to Crack Down on Labor Day Drunk Drivers

This Labor Day, you are most likely commuting to visit your friends and family. Labor Day gives us an opportunity to celebrate all the hard work we’ve put into this year thus far. While Labor Day activities, such as barbecues, pool parties, and more are great fun, you must ensure you do what you can do stay safe. Everybody knows that driving under the influence is not safe or okay, though people still do it all over the country. If you find yourself in a situation where you were pulled over with a Blood Alcohol Content over the legal limit, there is a very good chance you are facing harsh repercussions now. This is why you must hire an experienced attorney who will aggressively fight your charges. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

When you are pulled over and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08%-0.10%, you may face the following penalties:

  • 3-month license suspension
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

If your BAC was greater than 0.10%, you will most likely face even harsher penalties, including a $300-$500 fine and a 7-12 month license suspension.

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI in New Jersey?

The consequences of a second-offense DWI are as follows:

  • 2-year license suspension
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years

What are the potential penalties of a third or subsequent DWI in the state of New Jersey?

The penalties for a third or subsequent DWI may include:

  • A 10-year loss of your license
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and related fees
  • Mandatory installation of an interlock device
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs