Thanksgiving Weekend Among Most Popular for DWIs Nationwide

Thanksgiving is a time of celebration, and people seek to make the most of their holiday. However, while there is nothing wrong with having a drink, you must ensure you do not do so before driving. Thanksgiving Weekend is one of the most dangerous times to be on the road, and it is crucial you do not contribute to that danger by refusing to get behind the wheel of a car after having a drink. In the past 6 years alone, over 800 people have died in alcohol-related car crashes during the Thanksgiving holiday. Though this alone should be enough to prevent you from getting behind the wheel, they do not deter everyone. If you are someone who was arrested for a DWI this Thanksgiving holiday, you must read on to learn more about the penalties you may face. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I get a DWI in New Jersey?

If this is your first offense, you will still face very serious consequences, as well as a criminal record that can haunt you forever. You may face the following consequences:

  • Up to 6 months of the ignition interlock device
  • A 30-day license forfeiture
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Up to 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration

What are the penalties for a second DWI in New Jersey?

The penalties for a second DWI in the state of New Jersey are as follows:

  • Up to 90 days of incarceration
  • A 2-year loss of license
  • A $100 fee to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Potential $1000 fine
  • A $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund

Will I lose my license forever for a third DWI offense?

For a third DWI in New Jersey, you will lose your license for at least 10 years. Here are some of the additional penalties you may face:

  • Up to 180 days of incarceration
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • A $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services fund
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 fee to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs