In the event that a car is left running and unattended, or a spare key is left near the vehicle, then it could be very compelling for a thief to act on it. If you give in to temptation and steal a car in the state of New Jersey, you can expect to face charges for violating auto theft laws. In New Jersey, the actual charges for auto theft are protected under the state’s theft laws because the state does not have a different statute for stealing a motor vehicle. However, the state does impose clear punishments when someone is convicted of auto theft or the unlawful taking of a car. Any person convicted of these crimes can be fined separately from the theft-associated fines. Also, the perpetrator’s driving privileges may be discontinued for up to 10 years. To learn more about the consequences related to these charges, read on and reach out to our firm today. Our experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney is ready to protect you and your future.
What are the penalties for the theft of a motor vehicle in the state of New Jersey?
It is important to understand that in the state of New Jersey, those who have been charged with the theft of a motor vehicle will face serious consequences. Keep in mind that the punishments depend on the number of offenses an individual has obtained. If you were charged, you can expect to face the following penalties:
- First offense: $500 fine and suspension or postponement of driver’s license for 1 year.
- Second offense: $750 fine and suspension or postponement of driver’s license for 2 years.
- Third offense: $1,000 fine and suspension or postponement of driver’s license for 10 years.
- Use of juvenile in auto theft: A person who is at least 18 years old who uses, solicits, hires, or employs a person who is 17 years or younger to commit auto theft is guilty of a crime in the second degree.
- Leader of an auto theft trafficking network: A person who conspires with others as a supervisor/organizer/financier or manager to engage in profit in a scheme to unlawfully take/dispose of distributing or transport stolen automobiles is guilty of a crime in the second degree. The court may inflict a fine of up to $250,000 or 5x the retail value of the cars, whichever is higher.
If you or a loved one were charged with any of the above, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today. Our legal team is prepared with the knowledge and experience needed to ensure that you and your future are protected. Give us a call today to get started on your claim. We are just one call away.
CONTACT OUR NEW JERSEY FIRM
CONTACT THE LAW OFFICE OF KEVIN T. CONWAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION IF YOU NEED AN AGGRESSIVE CRIMINAL LAWYER.