Sobriety checkpoints are common during the holiday season, but especially on New Year’s Eve. Continue reading and reach out to our skilled Bergen County DWI attorneys today to ensure you are not charged with a DWI this year.
What are the consequences of a first offense DWI in New Jersey?
The state of New Jersey does not tolerate DWI offenses. Even if it is just your first offense, if you are pulled over by law enforcement with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09% while operating a vehicle, you will likely encounter the following:
- A $250-$400 fine
- Up to 30 days of imprisonment
- License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- DWI surcharge of $125
- $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
- $50 to VCCO
- The mandatory installation and application of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to six months
- $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
Also, it is important to note for your first offense, if your BAC was higher than 0.10%, you will most likely face even stricter penalties, including a $300-$500 fine and a 7-12 month license suspension. Reach out to our firm today if you are charged with a DWI this New Year’s Eve.
What can happen after a second offense DWI in New Jersey?
New Jersey will classify you as a repeat offender if you are charged with a second DWI. This means that it will result in even more severe consequences including:
- You will most likely lose your license for up to 2 years
- You may have to spend up to 90 days in jail
- A $75 fee towards Neighborhood Services Fund
- Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- You may face a $1,000 fine, as well as a $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years, a $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee, and a $100 fee towards the Drunk Driving Fund.
Will I go to jail for a third offense DWI in New Jersey?
You will face life-long consequences if you receive a third offense DWI this New Year’s Eve. If you do not have an experienced Bergen County DWI attorney on your side, you can expect to face the following consequences:
- You can lose your license for 10 years
- You may spend up to 180 days in jail
- You will most likely have to spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- You may have to pay a $1,000 fine, a $100 Alcohol
- Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee, a $100 fee to the Drunk
- Driving Fund, a $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund, and a $1,500 yearly surcharge for 3 years.
CONTACT OUR FIRM
Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.