What are the Consequences of a DWI With a CDL in New Jersey?

Everybody knows it is both illegal and unsafe to get behind the wheel after having one or more drinks. However, unfortunately, this does not stop everyone from doing so. While driving under the influence does not necessarily make you a bad person, the courts will treat you as such if you are convicted. To make matters worse, if you have a CDL, a DWI can affect both your basic driving privileges and your career as a whole. If your livelihood is at stake, contact one of our experienced attorneys who will aggressively fight your DWI charges. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding your legal options going forward:

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?

If you are charged with a first-offense DWI with a CDL, the courts will not punish you with a “slap on the wrist.” Courts take driving under the influence, especially as a commercial driver very seriously. Here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • 3-month driver’s license suspension
  • 1 year CDL license suspension
  • Fines of $250-$400
  • 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI with a CDL and a BAC of .10% or higher?

In New Jersey, a commercial driver may be charged with a DWI if his or her blood alcohol content, or BAC, is .04%. However, New Jersey courts take a BAC over .10% even more seriously. Some of the potential penalties you may face for a BAC over .10% are as follows:

  • 7 months-1 year driver’s license suspension
  • 1 year CDL license suspension
  • Fines of $300-$500
  • 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?

If this is your second offense, you cannot afford to wait any longer. You must hire an experienced attorney as soon as you can. Your career as a commercial driver is at stake. If you are convicted of a second DWI with a CDL, you may face the following penalties:

  • 2-year driver’s license suspension
  • Lifetime CDL license revocation
  • Fines of $500-$1,000
  • 12-48 hours at an intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • 48 hours-90 days in jail
  • 30 days of community service

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs