If you have been charged with theft, there is a good chance you may be facing brutal ramifications. The state of New Jersey takes theft very seriously, and if you are brought in front of a judge, there is a very small chance he or she will show you any mercy. If you are convicted of theft in any degree, it may very well impact the rest of your life severely. You may not be able to move into the house you wish, you may not be able to get the jobs you want, and you may not qualify for certain loans you will need, even years after your conviction took place. This is why if you are facing theft charges, it is extremely important you retain an experienced attorney today to help mitigate the damage. If you find yourself in this situation, here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the different types of theft and their consequences?
There are several different types of theft, all varying in their degree of seriousness. While they are all punishable offenses, some face far more serious ramifications than others. Below, you will find a list of the different theft offenses in the state of New Jersey:
- Stolen property valued under $200: Generally met with a disorderly persons offense
- Stolen property valued between $200-$500: This is a fourth-degree crime, and may result in up to 18 months of jail time
- Stolen property valued between $500-$75,000, or the theft of a firearm, vehicle, controlled substance less than a kilogram, or a blank prescription pad: This is a third-degree crime, and it may result in up to 5 years of jail time.
- Stolen property greater than $75,00, or human remains, extortion, or theft of a controlled substance greater than one kilogram: This is a second-degree theft crime and may result in up to 10 years in jail
What are the consequences of armed robbery?
If a weapon was involved in the act of stealing, you will most likely be charged with an armed robbery offense. Additionally, if the weapon used in the act of stealing was stolen, the penalties may be even further increased. If you have been convicted of a violent crime in the state of New Jersey, you will most likely be subjected to the No Early Release Act, which states that those convicted with certain violent crimes must serve at least 85% of their sentence before they are eligible for parole. Charges of theft have extremely serious consequences, so you must hire a knowledgable attorney who will do anything in his or her power to get them either reduced or dismissed, if at all possible.
Contact our New Jersey firm
If you have been charged with a theft crime in the state of New Jersey, retaining an experienced defense attorney is essential. These crimes are very serious and can impact you every day for the rest of your life. The legal team at The Law Office of Attorney Conway is ready to defend your case, no matter how serious. Contact us today.