Thanksgiving is a holiday that can involve drinking with family and friends. It is important to note the penalties of a DWI in New Jersey, and ensure that you are not getting behind the wheel while under the influence of alcohol. Reach out to our firm today if you have been charged. Our skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorneys are prepared to fight for you and your rights.
What are the consequences of a Thanksgiving first-offense DWI in New Jersey?
New Jersey takes DWI offenses very seriously, even if it is your first time. If you are pulled over by law enforcement with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09% while operating a vehicle, you can expect to face the following penalties for a first offense DWI:
- Up to 30 days of imprisonment
- A $250-$400 fine
- License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- DWI surcharge of $125
- $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
- $50 to VCCO
- The mandatory installation and application of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to six months
- $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
Furthermore, it is essential to understand that for your first offense, if your BAC was higher than 0.10%, you will most likely face even harsher penalties, including a $300-$500 fine and a 7-12 month license suspension. Contact our firm today if you were charged with a Thanksgiving DWI.
What are the penalties for a second DWI offense in New Jersey?
For a second offense DWI, you will be classified as a repeat offender in New Jersey. This will likely result in even harsher consequences including the following:
- You may have to spend up to 90 days in jail
- You will most likely lose your license for up to 2 years
- A $75 fee towards Neighborhood Services Fund
- Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- You may face a $1,000 fine, as well as a $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years, a $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee, and a $100 fee towards the Drunk Driving Fund.
Will I get arrested for a third DWI offense?
If you have been charged with a third DWI, you will encounter life-altering consequences. Without the services of a skilled New Jersey criminal divorce attorney, you can expect to face the following:
- You can lose your license for 10 years
- You may spend up to 180 days in jail
- You will most likely have to spend up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- You may have to pay a $1,000 fine, a $100 Alcohol
Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee, a $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund, a $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund, and a $1,500 yearly surcharge for 3 years.
CONTACT OUR FIRM
Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.