Labor Day is known for relaxing and drinking with friends and family. Unfortunately, many individuals get behind the wheel after they have been drinking, resulting in a DWI. New Jersey takes DWIs very seriously, which is why if you were charged with one, it is in your best interest to reach out to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to discuss your options.
What will happen if I get a DWI in New Jersey?
Even if it is your first offense DWI, you will likely face harsh consequences. If you are pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you may face the following for a first offense DWI:
- License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
- Up to 30 days of imprisonment
- A $250-$400 fine
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- DWI surcharge of $125
- $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
- $50 to VCCO
- $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
- The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for up to six months
Additionally, it is important to understand that for your first offense, if your BAC was greater than 0.10%, you will likely face more severe penalties, including a $300-$500 fine and a 7-12 month license suspension.
What are the penalties for a second DWI in New Jersey?
For a second offense DWI, you will be classified as a repeat offender in New Jersey. This will likely result in even harsher consequences including the following:
- You may have to spend up to 90 days in jail
- You will most likely lose your license for up to 2 years
- A $75 fee towards Neighborhood Services Fund
- Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- You may face a $1,000 fine, as well as a $1,000 yearly surcharge for 3 years, a $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund Fee, and a $100 fee towards the Drunk Driving Fund.
Will I go to jail for a third DWI?
If you receive a third DWI, you will face life-altering outcomes. These penalties include the following:
- You may spend up to 180 days in jail
- You may lose your license for 10 years
- You may have to pay a $1,000 fine, a $100 Alcohol
- Education and
- Rehabilitation Fund Fee, a $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund, a $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund, and a $1,500 yearly surcharge for 3 years.
- You will most likely have to spend up to 48 hours in the
- Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
CONTACT OUR FIRM
Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.