Will I Lose My Car After a DUI in New Jersey? | What to Know

If you were charged with a DUI in New Jersey, you may be wondering if you will lose your car. To learn more, continue reading, and do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney today.

Will my car get taken away in New Jersey after a DUI?

If you were charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated or refusing to provide a breath test, the police must impound the vehicle you were operating. After the 12-hour mandatory impoundment period is over, you will be able to reclaim your car or have someone reclaim it on your behalf.

If you are interested in learning more about what will happen to your car after a DUI, do not hesitate to reach out to our skilled firm today. Our legal team is on your side no matter what.

What are the consequences of a DUI in New Jersey?

If you were found driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or above, then you have violated New Jersey law. It is important to recognize that driving under the influence does not matter if you can operate your vehicle safely. If your blood alcohol content surpasses the legal limit, this on its own is enough to criminally charge you. You can expect to face the following penalties if a court finds you guilty of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in New Jersey:

First offense:

  • Fines and fees of approximately $650 to $1,000
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated
  • Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for 3 years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 3 to 12 months

Second offense:

  • Up to $1,500 in fines and fees
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • 30 days of community service
  • 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for 3 years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 2 years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Third offense:

  • Minimum fine of $1,000
  • Mandatory imprisonment in the county jail of not less than 180 days
  • 90 days of community service
  • 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $4,500 in automobile insurance surcharges over a 3 year period
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 10 years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

If you are facing the consequences of a DUI in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to speak with an experienced Bergen County DWI attorney today.

CONTACT OUR FIRM

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs