close search ×
Three people in a parking lot look frustrated and confused while talking on their cellphones, with cars and a fence in the background.

Bergen County NJ High BAC DWI Attorney

High BAC Attorney in Paramus, New Jersey

A glass of whiskey, handcuffs, and a car key on a textured black surface, symbolizing the dangers of drinking and driving, potentially requiring the services of a Bergen County Criminal Defense Attorney.

Individuals who are convicted of driving while intoxicated in the state of New Jersey are subject to very serious consequences. The state imposes harsh penalties on those who drink and drive because they put the lives of everyone around them at risk. Each year, thousands of innocent people fall victim to drunk drivers. When these drivers are brought in front of a judge, the court will typically impose jail time, hefty fines and fees, a license suspension, and even the possibility of having to install an ignition interlock device. Those who are found to have a high blood alcohol content will face even more serious penalties. If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated with a high blood alcohol content, retaining an attorney is essential. The Law Office of Attorney Conway has decades of experience fighting on behalf of clients faced with these charges. Contact a Bergen County high BAC DWI attorney from our firm today.

What is a high BAC?

Any time an individual is pulled over by a law enforcement officer who believes that they may be under the influence of alcohol, the officer will have to determine whether the individual’s blood alcohol content is greater than the legal limit. When administering a chemical breath test after the 20-minute observation period, the officer will determine whether the driver’s BAC is 0.08 percent or higher, meaning that they are intoxicated. If the test reveals that the driver’s BAC is greater than 0.10 percent, they can be charged with a high BAC DWI. The penalties for a conviction of this sort are more serious than a standard DWI, where the driver’s BAC was between 0.08 and 0.10 percent. If you have been charged with an escalated DWI, it is important to have strong legal counsel on your side.

Penalties for a High BAC

New Jersey aims to place significant consequences on those who drive while intoxicated, especially when they have a higher BAC. Individuals with a blood alcohol content of .10 percent or greater may face the following penalties:

  • Incarceration for up to 30 days
  • Driver’s license suspension for 7-12 months
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and 6-12 months after license restoration

It is important to be aware that unlike other states, New Jersey does not have a hardship license. Simply put, convicted individuals will not be able to request a special license for work or school obligations.


We will explore all defenses to free you of a DWI conviction. We recognize the significance of the charges and how a conviction could seriously impact your life and the life of your loved ones. It is important to assess the facts of the case. In our assessment of your case, we will first look at the following aspects:

  • The stop: We will first look to see if the police officer had probable cause to stop you. If he or she did not, your arrest could be unlawful and the evidence against you inadmissible.
  • The field sobriety test: Protocol must be followed when a law enforcement officer administers a field sobriety test. When they do not follow the law, the evidence against you can be inadmissible in court.
  • The breath test: Again, police officers must adhere to a protocol when administering a breath test. In accordance with the law, a police officer must wait 20 minutes free from any signs of regurgitation to administer a breath test or the evidence could be inadmissible because the results could be skewed.

Contact a Bergen County High BAC DWI Attorney

Individuals who have been charged with driving while intoxicated will face significant consequences upon a conviction. These penalties increase significantly when the driver has an escalated blood alcohol content. If you are facing high BAC DWI charges, it is essential to retain the services of an attorney with the experience needed to explore all defenses and fight for your future. Contact The Law Office of Attorney Conway for quality legal representation when it matters most.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by