close search ×
A woman driving a car during sunset in New Jersey, with a scenic view of layered mountains and a soft orange sky visible through the windshield.

Can I Receive a Hardship License After Receiving a DUI in New Jersey?

New Jersey takes DUI and DWIs very seriously. If your license was suspended or revoked as a result of a DUI or DWI, it is strongly advised that you reach out to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to determine potential defenses for your charges and to see if you qualify for a hardship license. The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway is committed to protecting your rights.

What is a hardship license?

A hardship license is awarded to an individual who has a suspended or revoked license after being charged with a DUI and has essential needs for driving. Typically, those who are granted a hardship license are only allowed to use their cars to travel to work, school, or a doctor’s appointment.

Can I receive a hardship license in New Jersey?

Unfortunately, in the state of New Jersey, hardship licenses are not granted by courts. A New Jersey driver who has lost their driving privileges due to a DUI or DWI is not permitted to get behind the wheel until their time has been served. After a DUI or DWI, a driver will lose their license for a minimum of three months in New Jersey.

What are the reasons for license suspensions?

There are several reasons for license suspensions in New Jersey. The most common reasons for a license suspension or revocation include the following:

  • DWI/DUI conviction
  • Refusal to take a breathalyzer test
  • Traffic offenses
  • Mental or physical condition
  • Failure to pay fines or court fees
  • Failure to provide proof of motor vehicle insurance
  • Abandoning a vehicle on a public highway

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license in New Jersey?

The penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license are harsh in the state of New Jersey. The consequences for each offense include:

  • First Offense: Extension to a license suspension that cannot exceed six months and a fine of $500
  • Second Offense: Possible imprisonment in the county jail for no longer than five days, possible extension of license suspension by up to six months, and a fine of $750
  • Third Offense: 10 days in county jail, possible extension of license suspension for up to six months, and a fine of $1,000

If you were charged with a DUI or DWI in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to reach out to a skilled criminal defense attorney to survey your options and find any possible remedies. Our firm is dedicated to protecting your rights.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by