close search ×
A person using a smartphone with a qwerty keyboard interface while sitting in the driver's seat of a car in New Jersey, holding the phone near the steering wheel with both hands.

Cell Phone Violations in New Jersey

Over the years, cell phone usage greatly increased and became a large part of people’s everyday lives. People can be found using their phones at several different moments during the day. Unfortunately, this includes while driving a car as well. Using a cell phone while driving is a very serious offense in the state of New Jersey. Using any electronic devices while operating a vehicle, without the assistance of hands-free technology, is considered to be a traffic violation. With this increase in cell phone usage, traffic laws were also changed and upgraded to hold offenders responsible for their actions. The state of New Jersey now holds strict laws for cell phone usage while behind the wheel of a car. Those who are in violation of these laws may face harsh consequences as a result.

Types of Cell Phone Violations

Drivers put themselves and everyone else on the road in great danger when they use a cell phone while driving. In doing so, drivers are not giving the road their full attention and they are not aware of their surroundings. This can cause very serious injuries and even death in some cases. Examples of cell phone violations may include but are not limited to:

  • Talking on a handheld mobile phone
  • Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data over the phone. This may include text messages, emails, or the use of social media
  • Searching through the internet
  • Watching or taking any pictures or videos
  • Playing games


Drivers found using a cell phone can be pulled over on the road by law enforcement officers. The officer may issue a ticket to the driver, resulting in certain penalties. These penalties may vary depending on the offense and if the driver has violated this law before. Consequences for a cell phone violation in the state of New Jersey may include:

  • A fine between $200 and $400 for a driver’s first offense
  • A fine between $400 and $600 for a driver’s second offense
  • A fine between $600 and $800 in addition to 3 points issued on the driver’s record for a third or subsequent offense. This may also require a license suspension for 90 days.

It is important to know that if an individual is issued a cell phone violation more than 10 years after another conviction for the same offense, it is not considered a subsequent offense.

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know is facing a cell phone violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway today.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by