close search ×
Two glasses of whiskey on a reflective black surface, highlighted by a soft light that accentuates their amber contents.

Drug DWI Charges in New Jersey

Driving under the influence is one of the most serious violations a person can commit while on the road. New Jersey courts and law enforcement officers take this offense seriously and are strict in handling them. Usually, people associate driving under the influence with only alcohol. However, it is still considered to be driving under the influence if a driver uses drugs and operates a vehicle. Those who are charged with a Drug DWI offense are facing drug charges in addition to DWI charges. Those who are charged with this offense may be subject to certain consequences depending on the offense. These consequences have the potential to follow an offender for the rest of their lives.

First Offense Drug DWI 

A first-offense Drug DWI offense may require the driver to face a series of penalties. These consequences may include:

  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • A maximum sentence of 30 days of incarceration
  • A suspended driver’s license between 7 and 12 months
  • $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (and applicable fees)
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device

Second Offense Drug DWI

If a driver is charged with their second Drug DWI offense, they may face more severe consequences than their first offense. This can include:

  • A fine between $500 and $1000
  • Incarceration for at least 48 hours but no more than 90 days
  • 30 days of community service (60 days if the offense took place in a school zone)
  • A suspended driver’s license for 2 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for between 1-3 years after license restoration
  • Other fees and fines

Third Offense Drug DWI

If an individual is charged with a third or subsequent Drug DWI offense within 10 years, consequences may include:

  • A $1000 fine
  • Incarceration for at least 180 days
  • A license suspension for 10 years
  • Various mandatory fines and fees
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device

Contact out Firm

If you or someone you know was charged with a DWAI-Drug charge and is seeking legal counsel, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway today.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by