close search ×
A close-up view of lush cannabis plants in New Jersey, with vibrant green leaves filling the frame.

Drug Possession in New Jersey | What are the Penalties?

New Jersey takes drug possession extremely seriously. If you are facing charges for possession in New Jersey, you will need to retain the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Read on to learn more about possession in New Jersey and the penalties you may face:

Consequences of Marijuana Possession

Individuals who are found in possession of marijuana without a medical license in New Jersey can be charged with a drug crime. If they are in possession of under 50 grams, penalties can include up to six months in prison and a maximum fine of $1000. If they are found with over 50 grams, this is a felony charge. The penalties for this charge can include up to a year and a half in prison and a $25,000 fine. If the crime was within 1000 feet of a school, it is important to be aware these penalties can worsen.

Consequences of Cocaine Possession

Individuals in New Jersey who are found with less than half an ounce of cocaine may be required to pay a fine between $35,000 and $75,000. Offenders may also face a prison sentence of up to 5 years. Additional penalties could include the loss of their driver’s license, enrollment in mandatory drug education and rehabilitation programs, and 100 hours of community service if the possession was within 1000 feet of a school.

Consequences of Heroin Possession

Small amounts of heroin may result in a third-degree crime, while larger ones may be a first or second-degree crime. This can result in a fine up to $35,000 and the possibility of 5 years in prison. If there was an intent to distribute the heroin or the individual was charged near a school or a park, these consequences can increase.

Consequences of Illegal Prescription Drugs

Individuals who are found in possession of illegal prescription drugs can face fines, jail time, and a criminal record. The higher the amount of illegal drugs in their possession, the more severe these consequences can be. This can vary from up to 18 months in jail to possibly 10 years in jail. Fines may also range from $1,000 to $300,000.

If you are facing charges for a drug crime in New Jersey, our firm is here to help. We will advocate for you and explore all possible avenues of defense. Reach out today to speak with an experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by