close search ×
Cost of a DWI with handcuffs

How Much Is the Cost of a DWI?

When you go out with friends, you likely anticipate the cost of your night out. From paying for tickets to an event to factoring in food and drinks, you likely have a rough estimate of how much you can expect to spend. However, if you get behind the wheel after having one too many, the cost of a DWI can surprise you. If you’re curious about the final cost of a DWI, you’ll want to keep reading to learn just how much driving under the influence can cost you. You’ll also learn how a Bergen County DWI attorney can help you navigate these charges.

What Influences the Cost of a DWI?

There are a number of factors that can impact the final price tag of a DWI charge.

For example, a first-time DWI with a BAC under 0.10% can cost just under $2,000 after all the fines and fees are applied, without factoring in the attorney fees. This is because you can expect to pay significant fees, including court fees, IDRC payments, and contributions to drunk driving funds. Similarly, you can expect to pay a $1,000 surcharge to the Motor Vehicle Commission for three years following your charge.

It is essential to note that this is just for a first-offense, low-level charge. If your BAC is higher, or you have subsequent charges, you can expect to pay even more in terms of fees and fines, especially when you consider that you will also have to pay for the installation of an ignition interlock device and contribute to the Victims of Crime Compensation, which can cost an estimated $200.

What Should I Do if Facing a DWI Charge?

If you are facing a DWI charge, ensuring you do what you can to avoid or reduce these charges is essential. Not only will this help you save money, but it could also help keep you out of jail. While a DWI is not considered a criminal offense, it is treated as one. Known as a quasi-crime, you can face prison time and probation despite having no criminal record.

Nonetheless, ensuring you contact an attorney as soon as possible is vital when facing a DWI charge in New Jersey. Unfortunately, the cost of a DWI extends well past the initial fines and fees. You can expect to strain the relationship with friends and family as a result of a conviction, and depending on the circumstances, spending time in jail can impact your ability to make money and provide for yourself and your family.

When you need a lawyer, Kevin T. Conway is ready to help. Our law office understands the implications of a DWI charge in New Jersey, and will do everything possible to help. We will explore every possible avenue to defend you and to try to achieve the best possible outcome for your circumstances. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by