close search ×
A handgun lies on a wooden surface with scattered bullets and a compass next to it, suggesting themes of travel and security. The setting is dimly lit, emphasizing a dramatic atmosphere potentially linked to gun laws

Joe Biden Passes Executive Action to Combat Gun Violence

President Joe Biden announced a half-dozen executive actions to combat gun violence in America. explained that “Biden’s new steps include a move to crack down on ‘ghost guns,’ homemade firearms that lack serial numbers used to trace them and are often purchased without a background check,” among other things. Read on to learn more about New Jersey’s current gun laws.

How to Apply for a Gun Permit 

In the state of New Jersey, there are two different types of gun permits that a person can apply for in order to go forward with purchasing one. While the two permits are completely different, there is only one application for them. The two permits include the following:

  • Handgun Purchase Permit: Known as HPP, this is to apply for the purchase of handguns.
  • Firearm Purchaser Identification Card: Known as FPID, this permit is needed to purchase a rifle, long gun, or shotgun.

What Do I Need for My Application?

When a resident of New Jersey is filling out their application, they are required to include certain documents in order to complete it. This includes the following:

  • A passport
  • A driver’s license
  • 2 references
  • An executed Consent for Mental Health Records Search

With this, the police will also conduct a full and thorough background check with the FBI. This process entails a search of the applicant’s mental health records, an investigation by the local police, and fingerprinting.

License to Carry

If a person wishes to carry the firearm they legally possess on their person, this requires a different license. All applicants for open carry are required to provide a justifiable reason as to why they need to carry the firearm.  This license is extremely difficult to obtain in New Jersey. 

What if I Illegally Obtain a Gun?

Any unlawful possession of handguns is classified as a second-degree criminal offense. This charge can subject a person to a possible prison sentence between five and 10 years in state prison. In addition to this, the crime violates the Graves Act, which means the offender must serve minimum imprisonment before becoming eligible for parole. If a person possesses a rifle, Airsoft gun, shotgun, paintball gun, or BB gun, they can face three to five years in state prison. Unlawful possession of any illegal weapons besides these is a fourth-degree crime, resulting in up to 18 months in prison.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding New Jersey’s gun laws, contact our firm today to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by