close search ×
A close-up view of lush cannabis plants in New Jersey, with vibrant green leaves filling the frame.

New Jersey Adds Marijuana Legalization Question to the 2020 Ballot

Over time, many states throughout the country have come to legalize the recreational use of marijuana. The state of New Jersey has been in the discussion of joining these other states in legalization. In 2020, these discussions may now turn into actual law.

2020 Ballot Question for Marijuana Legalization

In November of 2020, the state of New Jersey will bring the legalization of marijuana to a vote. This was made possible after super-majorities in the state Senate and Assembly approved putting a question on the ballot that would make its usage legal if it were to be approved. The decision was passed by 24-16 in the Senate and the Assembly voted 48-23 with one abstention. 

If the vote is approved, anyone over 21 years old would be legally allowed to use marijuana in New Jersey. Sales would be overseen by a regulatory commission, purchases would be subject to the state’s sales tax, and host towns would be able to set their own levies of up to 2%. However, this change would not happen immediately, as the measure must return to the legislature first to make regulations.

Recent polls show 60% of voters are in favor of legalizing cannabis for recreational use. President of the New Jersey CannaBusiness Association,  Scott Rudder, stated, “Now, we have a significant majority in both the Assembly and Senate. All polling has suggested that this is overwhelmingly supported by voters, so we expect a positive outcome in 2020.” However, he is also aware of the existing opposition to legalization. He followed up with, “But remember, there are those that are opposed to it and will spend a lot of money to try to defeat it.” 

What are the Current Penalties Regarding Marijuana Possession in New Jersey?

While New Jersey may be heading towards a significant change in marijuana law, it is important to know that the recreational use of marijuana is still illegal within the state. Any violation of these laws can result in the following penalties:

  • For possession of 50 grams or less, an offender can face a disorderly persons offense, up to 6 months of incarceration, and a $1000 fine
  • For possession of more than 50 grams, an offender can face up to 1.5 years in jail as well as a possible $25,000 fine

Contact our Firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by