close search ×
person opening alcohol in car

Underage DWI Charges in New Jersey | What to Know

Individuals convicted of an underage DWI charge can expect life-long consequences. That is why if you or your child have been charged, you will need to retain the services of a skilled Bergen County criminal defense attorney today.

How does New Jersey define an underage DWI?

The state of New Jersey has implemented a zero-tolerance law to hold those who drink and drive legally responsible. In the event that an underage driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of even 0.01% while driving a vehicle, he or she can obtain an underage DWI offense. Typically, these cases are held in municipal court, however, in instances where underage drivers have a BAC of over 0.08% and are caught behind the wheel can be charged as an adult and face the same DWI penalties as an of-age driver. To learn more about underage DWIs, reach out to our skilled firm today.

What are the consequences of an underage DWI in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, if an underage driver receives a DWI, he or she may face serious penalties. The penalties of an underage DWI are used to prevent the individual from engaging in the same behavior again and to help get him back on the right path. These penalties may include the following:

  • License suspension
    • With this penalty, the individual’s driver’s license can be stopped by the state for 30 to 90 days. Teenagers with a probationary license are mandated to complete a four-hour remedial driving course without the possibility of receiving a basic driver’s license for one year. If the driver has a learner’s permit, he or she must complete the four-hour class and face a further 90 days suspension. More DWI offenses can result in further license suspensions or revocations.
  • Community service
    • Underage DWI offenders may be ordered by the court to complete 15 to 30 days of community service.
  • Treatment
    • Those who are charged with an underage DWI are required to complete the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program or a similarly approved rehabilitation program. The IDRC will perform an evaluation and interview before referring the driver to a treatment level that is appropriate. This level is based on the evaluation, the individual’s driving record, and the BAC at the time of the violation. The driver may also be ordered to pay fees associated with these programs.

You should not be facing the consequences of an underage DWI alone. Reach out to our firm today to have a skilled Bergen County DWI attorney on your side.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by