close search ×
A person holding a cell phone displaying a text message conversation, with a blur of a steering wheel and street in the background, emphasizing unsafe driving behavior indicative of a New Jersey cell phone violation.

What are the Consequences of a Cell Phone Violation in New Jersey?

With the increase in cell phone usage over time, people can be seen with them at almost any moment of the day. Unfortunately, this can even be while operating a vehicle. All drivers within the state of New Jersey are required to be alert behind the wheel and pay attention to the road. This ensures the safety of themselves as well as others. It is because of this that when a person uses a cell phone while driving, they are in direct violation of the rules of the road. As a result, they can receive a cell phone violation that leads to certain penalties. If you have received a cell phone violation in New Jersey, it can be beneficial to contact an experienced traffic violation attorney for assistance.

What is Considered a Cell Phone Violation?

When a driver uses their cell phone while they are driving, they are not giving their undivided attention to the road. As a result of this, they and other people on the road can be put in great danger of an accident. These accidents have the potential to cause serious, life-changing injuries. It is because of this that it is crucial to leave phones untouched until you get to your destination and not use them behind the wheel. The following are common examples of cell phone violations in New Jersey:

  • Talking on a handheld mobile phone
  • Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data. This can include text messages, emails, or using social media.
  • Searching through the internet
  • Watching or taking any pictures or videos
  • Playing games

What are the Penalties of a Cell Phone Violation?

Drivers who are found using a cell phone while driving can be pulled over by law enforcement and issued a ticket. This can subject the individual to a fine that varies depending on the circumstances surrounding the traffic violation. For example, a driver who receives their first cell phone violation can face a fine between $200 and $400. A second violation may subject them to a fine between $400 and $600.

It is important to know that the consequences for a third or subsequent cell phone violation can be harsher than the previous. The fine can increase to between $600 and $800. The ticket may also subject drivers to three points on their record, possible higher insurance premiums, and a license suspension in serious cases.

Contact our Firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by