close search ×
A collection of blue and white capsules, representing consequences of Drug DWI, scattered on a white background.

What are the Consequences of a Drug DWI in New Jersey?

Many people think that DWI’s are strictly limited to driving under the influence of alcohol. However, the term “DWI” actually refers to driving while intoxicated by liquor, narcotics, or a habit-producing drug that affects the motorist’s “mental faculties or physical capabilities.” If you have been charged with a drug DWI, there is a very good chance you will face strict penalties, which is why you must read on and hire an experienced attorney who knows the ins and outs of the criminal defense process.

What are the penalties for a first-offense drug DWI in New Jersey?

Do not think that the courts will go easy on you since it is only your first offense. If this is your first drug DWI offense, here are some of the consequences you may face:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A 7 to 12-month-long license suspension
  • A $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device

What happens if I get a second drug DWI in New Jersey?

If this is your second drug DWI charge, you will, rather unsurprisingly, be treated as a repeat offender. This means you will most likely face an even more hostile courtroom this time around. You may face the following:

  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • At least 48 hours but no more than 90 days of jail time
  • 30 days of mandatory community service, though if the offense took place in a school zone, 60 days
  • A 2-year driver’s license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for between 1 and 3 years after license restoration
  • Additional fees and fines

What are the consequences of a third or subsequent drug DWI in New Jersey?

Third-time offenders cannot afford to wait any longer. You must act now and hire an experienced attorney who is ready to aggressively combat your charges. Here are some of the penalties you may face:

  • A $1000 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Various fines and fees
  • Mandatory participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by