close search ×
a pair of handcuffs

What Are the Consequences of Burglary in New Jersey?

If you were charged with burglary in New Jersey, you will need to retain the services of an experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Our legal team can fight for you and your rights.

How does New Jersey law define burglary?

A burglary occurs when an individual enters a structure or research facility without authorization, and with the purpose of committing a crime inside that building.

It is important to note that the state of New Jersey defines “structure” as any room, building, ship, vehicle, airplane, or any place adapted either for sleeping or business. An aggravated burglary occurs when the offender inflicts, threatens, or attempts to inflict bodily injury on another individual while also committing burglary. Additionally, aggravated burglary applies to burglars who are armed with, or appear to be armed with a deadly weapon or explosive. To learn more about burglary, do not wait to reach out to one of our experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorneys today.

What are the penalties of a burglary charge?

There are two kinds of burglary that New Jersey recognizes: burglary and aggravated burglary. Those facing a standard burglary charge have committed a third-degree offense and may face up to 5 years in prison, in addition to a potential $15,000 fine. But, if you are convicted of aggravated burglary, a crime of the second degree, you will likely face up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines.

What is the difference between burglary and robbery?

It is not uncommon for burglary and robbery to be mixed up. Robbery is an aggravated theft crime. Under New Jersey law, simple theft is a robbery if any of the following events happen while the crime is being committed:

  • Inflicting bodily injury or other use of force during the theft
    Threatening or otherwise putting the victim in immediate fear of bodily injury
  • Committing or threatening to commit a crime of the first or second degree during the course of a theft, for instance, inflicting serious bodily injury or death, or using or threatening to use a deadly weapon (armed robbery)

The consequences of robbery include five to 10 years in prison in addition to a fine of up to $150,000 for second-degree robbery, and 10 to 20 years in prison as well as a fine of up to $200,000 for first-degree robbery.

Reach out to our firm today if you are facing charges of burglary or robbery. Our legal team is committed to ensuring that you and your future are protected.

Contact our Firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by