close search ×
A white sports car drifting recklessly on a dusty road in New Jersey, leaving a trail of dust behind, with blurred trees and buildings in the background under a clear sky.

What are the Consequences of Reckless Driving in New Jersey?

Our roads are plagued with careless, reckless drivers. Everywhere you go, people are glued to their phones, staring downwards while behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. Or, sometimes, drivers are angrily weaving in and out of rush hour traffic, all to get somewhere a couple of minutes early. This sort of behavior is unacceptable, though unfortunately, it is everywhere. However, you do not have to contribute to the problem. Before you get behind the wheel of your car, you need to understand that you are operating a piece of machinery that can be extremely dangerous if used incorrectly, or while distracted. However, despite all the warnings, people still drive recklessly. If you find yourself facing a reckless driving ticket, its implications may be severe, which is why you should do yourself a favor–hire an experienced attorney, and read on for more information regarding reckless driving tickets:

What are the penalties for a first-offense reckless driving ticket?

New Jersey defines reckless driving as a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. Generally, DUI’s, willfully damaging property, and excessively speeding can qualify for a reckless driving charge. Some of the penalties you can expect for a first-offense reckless driving ticket in New Jersey are as follows:

  • 5 points on your driving record
  • A fine up to $200
  • Imprisonment up to 60 days
  • Potential license suspension

What are the consequences of a second-offense reckless driving ticket?

If this is your second reckless driving offense, the courts will treat you as a repeat offender, and will therefore show you no mercy. This is why you must hire an experienced attorney who is willing to combat the courts, tooth-and-nail. When you get points added to your license, you drastically impact your insurance premiums, which you may be paying for way down the road. Additionally, if you accumulate enough points, you will eventually get your license suspended, which can significantly impact your daily life. Some of the potential consequences of a second-offense reckless driving ticket in New Jersey are as follows:

  • Imprisonment up to 90 days
  • Fines up to $500
  • Possible license suspension

If you hire an experienced attorney, he will do everything in his power to mitigate the consequences of your charges, or, in some cases, have them dropped altogether. However, you cannot afford to wait. Take action now by hiring an aggressive and knowledgeable attorney who is ready to fight for your rights.

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact our office for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by