close search ×
crosswalk pedestrian

What are the penalties for failure to yield to a pedestrian in New Jersey?

As the driver, you should take all precautions possible to prevent an accident, especially when it comes to pedestrians. In the state of New Jersey, pedestrians are the second most likely group to be killed in a motorized collision. Failure to yield to a pedestrian can result in significant penalties for you such as fines, mandatory community service, and points on your license. Depending on previous offenses, or other circumstances regarding the incident, this could lead to further issues down the road. If you were involved in such an incident recently, contact a Bergen county traffic ticket attorney at the Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a consultation.

How can penalties for failing to yield to a pedestrian affect me?

Based on the traffic laws in the state of New Jersey, if you are convicted of failure to yield to a pedestrian, the penalties could have drastic consequences. For violations of this nature, convicted motorists may face a fine of up to $200, along with a requirement of 15 days of community service. Perhaps most importantly, this type of charge can also result in two points on your driver’s license.

Getting any points on your driver’s license is a problem; even just two points on your license could lead to severe financial hardships. In New Jersey, two points on your license could raise your auto insurance rates by as high as 180%, depending on what company and plan you are using. Six points on your license could lead to even more hefty surcharges and fines, with every additional point past six further exacerbating the surcharges you will have to pay. If you manage to accrue 12 points within two years on your driving record, that could result in the suspension of your license for no less than six months.

What constitutes a failure to yield to a pedestrian charge?

It is important to understand that in New Jersey, pedestrians have the right-of-way at all marked crosswalks, as well as unmarked crosswalks at any intersection. All drivers must come to a complete stop and remain stopped when pedestrians are crossing. This also applies to the passing of any vehicles that have come to a stop at a crosswalk, and having any portion of your vehicle blocking the crosswalk. It is your responsibility as the motorist to respect the right-of-way of a pedestrian.

However, it is also essential to know that pedestrians are responsible for following traffic laws. It is illegal for a pedestrian to leave any place of safety that puts them in a position so close to a vehicle that it is impossible for the driver to yield to them. A pedestrian must also yield the right-of-way to the motorist if there are no marked crosswalks or unmarked crosswalks at an intersection.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by