close search ×
A dynamic view from a moving vehicle on a highway at sunset, with vibrant orange and pink clouds in the sky and blurred motion of the road and surrounding cars, reminiscent of the consequences of speeding.

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey?

Reckless driving charges in New Jersey carry severe consequences. If you are facing penalties, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to speak with our dedicated New Jersey criminal defense attorneys. The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway is committed to ensuring that you and your future are protected.

What is reckless driving in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, an individual can be charged with a reckless driving ticket for several reasons. Reckless driving in New Jersey is described as when someone is driving a vehicle “heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger a person’s property.” This means that you can receive a ticket for driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Additionally, you can be convicted of driving recklessly if you damage another property with your car.

If you have been charged with a reckless driving ticket, you will want to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your options.

What happens if I am charged with reckless driving in New Jersey?

If you have been charged with reckless driving, you will likely face harsh, life-altering consequences. Furthermore, it is also important to note that the penalties for this offense will increase as the amount of additional charges increases. If you have been charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you have the potential of facing jail time for up to three months, fines of up to $500, and a license suspension. Furthermore, reckless driving tickets may also tack on a 5-point violation on your driver’s license record, which can lead to a big jump in insurance premiums and a long license suspension.

What will happen if I get points on my driver’s license?

You will notice that the first thing that will happen once you receive points on your license, is your insurance premium will increase. This further shows that a reckless driving charge can burden you with consequences that can last months and even years. It is also essential to note that if someone accumulates six or more points on their license within three years, they will likely need to pay a $150 fine.

If you are in this unfortunate situation, do not hesitate to contact our experienced New Jersey firm today. Our seasoned criminal defense attorneys are committed to fighting for you and your rights in order to combat these charges.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by