close search ×
gavel on table

What Constitutes a Burglary Charge in New Jersey?

Burglary is an extremely serious offense in the state of New Jersey, and if you are someone who has been convicted, you may face severe consequences that can potentially change the rest of your life. If you are facing burglary charges, please read on and reach out to our experienced firm to learn more about how we can help you going forward. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How does the state of New Jersey define the term “burglary”?

To meet New Jersey’s standard of “burglary,” an individual must enter a structure or research facility without permission, and with the intent to commit a crime inside said building. Therefore, burglary is far more than a standard trespassing charge. New Jersey defines the term “structure” as any room, building, ship, vehicle, airplane, or any place adapted either for sleeping or business.

If you are someone who was caught entering such a place without specific permission of its owner, you may very well be facing a burglary charge. Though public places are, obviously, open to the public, if you enter such a place past their standard hours of operation, you may be considered trespassing, or if it is proven you entered with the intention of committing a crime, such as theft, you will most likely face burglary charges.

Aggravated burglary, is defined as when the offender inflicts, or threatens or attempts to inflict bodily injury on another individual while also committing burglary. Aggravated burglary also applies to burglars who are armed with, or appear to be armed with a deadly weapon or explosive.

What are the consequences of committing a burglary in the state of New Jersey?

There are two types of burglary recognized by the state of New Jersey, those being burglary, and aggravated burglary. Those facing a standard burglary charge are committing a crime of the third degree, and face up to 5 years in prison, as well as a potential $15,000 fine. However, if you are convicted of aggravated burglary, a crime of the second degree, you face up to 10 years in prison, as well as up to $150,000 in fines.

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by