close search ×
A person holding a cell phone displaying a text message conversation, with a blur of a steering wheel and street in the background, emphasizing unsafe driving behavior indicative of a New Jersey cell phone violation.

What do I Need to Know About Traffic Violations in New Jersey?

People can obtain a driver’s license in New Jersey after the proper testing and training. When this happens, they are trusted to operate their vehicle safely. If they fail to do so, it can cause dangerous accidents that can result in serious injuries. Law enforcement in New Jersey works hard to prevent this from happening by imposing penalties on those who do not follow the rules of the road. Consequences of negligent driving can include fines, points on a driving record, surcharges, and even the possibility of losing a license. Continue reading below and contact an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney to learn more.

Speeding Violations

When a person drives over the speed limit, they can receive a speeding violation and be subject to New Jersey’s point system. This puts points on a person’s driving record, the amount dependent upon how fast they were going over the limit. The system is as follows:

  • 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
  • 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
  • 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit

Cell Phone Violations

All drivers in this day and age are aware that they are prohibited from using an electronic device, such as a cell phone, while driving. Those who do so anyway are endangering all other individuals on the road. It is because of this that they can face a fine ranging from $200 to $800 in addition to three points on their driving record. 

Reckless Driving

In New Jersey, reckless driving is defined as “a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property.” This includes actions such as excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. These offenses can result in fines as well as the possibility of a license suspension. 

Driving Without a License

Many people do not have a driver’s license, whether they never got one or they had theirs taken away after violating traffic laws. In either case, the individuals do not have the right to operate a vehicle. If they choose to do so anyway, it is considered a traffic violation of its own. This can result in a fine between $500 to $1000 as well as possible jail time.

Contact our Firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by