close search ×
texting while driving

What is a Cell Phone Violation in New Jersey? | What to Know

New Jersey does not tolerate cell phone violations, which is why if you have been charged, you will need a dedicated and experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. Do not hesitate to contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway today to discuss your potential defenses with our skilled legal team.

What constitutes a cell phone violation in New Jersey?

Cell phone usage has sky-rocketed as a result of technological advancements. This also means that cell phone violations have been at an all-time high. There are many types of cell phone violations that are recognized in the state of New Jersey. The most typical examples of cell phone violations on the road include the following:

  • Searching through the internet
  • Talking on a handheld mobile phone
  • Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data. This can include text messages, emails, or using social media.
  • Watching or taking any pictures or videos
  • Playing games

Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today if you have questions or concerns about cell phone violations. Our skilled criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to ensuring that you and your future are protected.

What are the consequences of a cell phone violation in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, drivers who are caught on their phones while operating a vehicle can be stopped by law enforcement and issued a ticket without any questions asked. A cell phone violation comes with other negative consequences beyond just a ticket. One of the penalties includes a fine. It is critical to note that the amount a person owes in fines for a cell phone violation is heavily dependent on the type of offense. The penalties include and are not limited to:

  • If it is a driver’s first offense, they can face a fine between $200 and $400
  • If it is a driver’s second offense, they can face a fine between $400 and $600
  • If it is a driver’s third or subsequent offense, they can face a fine between $600 and $800.

If you were charged with a cell phone violation, you will need to retain the services of a skilled and dedicated criminal defense attorney. With the help of a New Jersey criminal defense attorney, they may be able to work on diminishing your charges and fines. Contact us today to discuss the specifics of your case with our legal team.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by