close search ×
A convoy of commercial semi-trucks driving on a sunlit highway surrounded by lush greenery during golden hour.

What to Know About Commercial DWIs in New Jersey

It is important to recognize the differences between the regular DWI charge and commercial DWIs in New Jersey. Reach out to our skilled Bergen County DWI attorney today to learn more.

How does New Jersey define a commercial vehicle?

In the state of New Jersey, in order for a vehicle to be considered a commercial vehicle, it must meet specific qualifications. Furthermore, if an individual causes any of the following vehicles, they will be suitable to obtain a commercial license:

  • A truck with a tank
  • A truck with double or triple trailers
  • A truck carrying hazardous materials
  • A passenger vehicle

To learn more about what qualifies as a commercial vehicle or what merits a commercial driver’s license, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm to learn more.

What are the differences between a commercial DWI and a regular DWI?

It is critical to understand that commercial vehicle drivers are held to a higher standard of responsibility, which suggests that they may face even harsher penalties if charged with a commercial license DWI. Individuals with a regular driver’s license can face DWI charges if they are caught with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. However, in the event that an individual is operating a commercial vehicle, he or she can be charged with a DWI if their blood alcohol concentration is .04% or higher.

What are the penalties of commercial DWIs in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not tolerate commercial DWI offenses. That is why if you were charged with one, you can expect severe life-altering outcomes. If this is your first offense and you were caught by law enforcement with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or higher, you will likely encounter the following:

  • A 1-year CDL license suspension
  • A 3-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Up to 48 hours at the intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to $400 in fines

It is also critical to understand that if you are caught with an alcohol concentration of .10% or higher, you will face even more severe consequences. If this is your second offense, you may lose your license, which can have damaging effects on those who drive a commercial vehicle for a living. If you have been charged, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today. With a skilled Bergen County criminal defense attorney on your side, you can feel confident knowing that you and your future are protected.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by