Cocaine and other hard drugs are banned in all states, with violations often leading to prison time and fines. New Jersey cocaine laws are the most difficult on drug traffickers, with a 25-year minimum mandatory prison sentence (before parole), and those charged with possession have the option to enter a treatment program if it’s the first offense. Selling cocaine to a minor or a pregnant woman can result in dual penalties.
The New Jersey judicial system has a drug court program that provides treatment and rehabilitation for non-violent drug offenders with no prior criminal record. Specialized drug court judges work with attorneys, probation officers, treatment professionals, and substance abuse evaluators to promote recovery and reduce recidivism. Those registered in the program obtain probation instead of prison but must provide regular drug testing and court appearances.
In the event that you have been charged with the sale, trafficking, or possession of cocaine in New Jersey, you should contact a criminal defense attorney licensed in the state who has experience with drug cases. Your attorney may be able to lower the sentence, have evidence tossed out, or otherwise provide the most favorable outcome possible. Reach out to our firm today to speak with a skilled Bergen County drug possession defense attorney.
What are the consequences of a cocaine charge in New Jersey?
The penalties for the sale of cocaine in New Jersey are serious. They include the following:
- .5 oz. or less: a crime of 3rd degree, $75,000;
- .5 oz. to 5 oz.: a crime of 2nd degree;
- Over 5 oz.: a crime of 1st degree, fixed prison term, and $300,000;
- Selling within 1000 feet of school: fixed prison term and up to $100,000;
- Selling to minor or pregnant female: double penalties
The charge for possession in New Jersey is categorized as a crime of 3rd degree and the penalty may include a fine of up to $35,000.
When can cocaine charges be dropped in New Jersey?
There are some instances under which criminal charges can be dropped. These include incorrect filling out of documents by police, improperly acquired or lost evidence, or no probable cause found. Each case is distinctive, with its own specifications, which is why having an attorney on your side will be beneficial.
Criminal defense attorneys cast a detailed investigation of the situation surrounding the drug charges. Under the Constitution, you are protected against unreasonable searches and seizures. When a cocaine arrest takes place after a traffic stop, the charges may be dropped if the stop was unconstitutional. The same is valid if there was no probable cause for law enforcement to search the vehicle. When evidence is improperly acquired, your lawyer can file a motion to conceal it.
CONTACT OUR NEW JERSEY FIRM
CONTACT THE LAW OFFICE OF KEVIN T. CONWAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION IF YOU NEED AN AGGRESSIVE CRIMINAL LAWYER.