Though many states have recently changed their attitude towards marijuana, those charged with the possession, cultivation, or sale of marijuana in the state of New Jersey may still face serious consequences if convicted. This is why if you are someone accused of a marijuana-related crime, it is in your best interest to hire an experienced attorney and read on to learn more about the potential penalties you may face. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the penalties for possession of marijuana in New Jersey?
Those charged with the possession of marijuana may face the following consequences:
- 50 grams or less: A disorderly person penalty, up to 6 months in jail, and a $1,000 fine
- More than 50 grams: This is a crime, and you face up to 1.5 years in jail, as well as a $25,000 fine
Those caught possessing marijuana within 1000 feet of a school may also be required to complete 100 hours of community service, on top of additional fines.
What are the penalties for possession with intent to sell or the distribution of marijuana?
If you are caught either selling or with the intent to sell marijuana, you will face even harsher consequences. They are as follows:
- Less than 1 ounce: Up to 1.5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- More than 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds: Between 3-5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- Between 5 pounds and 25 pounds: Between 5-10 years in jail, $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds: Between 10-20 years in jail, $300,000 fine
- The distribution of marijuana within 1000 feet of a school or school bus: Between 3-5 years in jail, $150,000 fine
Additionally, if you are caught distributing marijuana to a pregnant woman, your sentence may be doubled.
What are the potential penalties for cultivating marijuana?
New Jersey takes the cultivation of marijuana very seriously. The penalties for cultivating marijuana in New Jersey are as follows:
- 1 ounce, but less than 5 pounds (less than 10 plants): Between 3-5 years in jail, $25,000 fine
- Between 5 and 25 pounds (10, but less than 50 plants): Between 5-10 years in jail, $150,000 fine
- More than 25 pounds, or 50+ plants: Between 10-20 years in jail, $300,000 fine
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.