New Jersey Drivers Beware: Police on the Lookout for Drunk Drivers This Halloween

Be very careful on the roads this Halloween. If you are caught driving under the influence, you will regret it. Read on and reach out to our New Jersey firm to learn more about what you are up against and how we can help you fight it.

What are the penalties for my first DWI in New Jersey?

New Jersey has just recently updated its DWI laws to better reflect the nature of the crime in the hopes that first-time offenders will learn their lesson and not become repeat offenders. However, the consequences of a DWI in New Jersey are still very serious and may impact your insurance premiums for years to come. If you are charged with a DWI in New Jersey with a BAC of .08%-.10%, you may face the following penalties:

  • Mandatory 3-6 month installation of the ignition interlock device
  • A 30-day license suspension
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and you will be charged with all associated costs and fees
  • Up to 30 days incarceration

Unfortunately, if you had a blood alcohol content between 0.10% and 0.15% at the time of your arrest, you will face even harsher penalties, including a license suspension of 45 days and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 6 months to one year. Additionally, if you are arrested with a BAC over 0.15%, you will be required to use the ignition interlock device for 12-18 months and will face a 90-day license suspension.

What happens if I am charged with a second DWI in the state of New Jersey?

For a second DWI charge in the state of New Jersey, you will face the following consequences:

  • Up to 90 days incarceration
  • A 2-year license suspension
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Can I keep my license if I am charged with a third or subsequent DWI offense?

If this is your third or subsequent DWI offense, you face a 10-year license revocation, though in some cases, your license may be revoked indefinitely, especially if you do not have an experienced attorney by your side. You may face the following penalties:

  • Up to 180 days of jail time
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and related fees
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services fund fee

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blogs