What is a High BAC Charge?

It is illegal for anyone in the country to drive a vehicle while they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It is because of this that all DUI charges are taken very seriously in New Jersey. However, it is a much more serious offense when a person is charged with a High BAC DUI. This can happen if a driver’s blood alcohol concentration was .10% or higher. When a person is facing these charges, it is important for them to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey DUI defense attorney for assistance with your case.

What are the Consequences of a High BAC DUI in New Jersey?

Drivers in the state of New Jersey who are charged with driving under the influence can face serious consequences. If they receive a High BAC DUI charge, the consequences they may be subject to are much harsher. They can impact the individual for the rest of their life. The penalties they may face can include:

  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • A license suspension of up to 12 months
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device during the license suspension and up to 12 months after its restoration
  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund

DUI Defenses in New Jersey

Sometimes, with a skilled attorney, an individual’s charges may be mitigated or even dropped. This may be the case in the event of the following situations:

  • An unlawful stop: When stopping a driver, officers must have probable cause. If they did not, it may have been an unlawful stop. In the event of this, the evidence they have against you to be thrown out of court.
  • Field sobriety tests: Field sobriety tests are often conducted to determine if a driver is under the influence. If the tests were administered improperly, you may have a defense against the charges.
  • A breath test: Officers cannot administer breath tests immediately after pulling over a driver. They are required to conduct an assessment of the driver’s condition for a minimum of 20 minutes beforehand. If this does not occur, you may have a defense against the charges.

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know was charged with a high BAC DWI and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway today.

Read Our Latest Blogs