When a person commits a violent crime in the state of New Jersey, it is taken very seriously. Individuals that are charged with committing a violent crime are facing a major situation. Consequences for these charges may vary depending on the crime and the circumstances surrounding it. There is a lot at stake when a person is charged with a violent crime. This is why it is important to contact a skilled attorney for assistance during this time.
In the state of New Jersey, there are several actions that are classified as violent crimes. This can include but is not limited to:
Violent crimes are classified by the degree of the crime. The consequences an offender may face are dependent upon what degree their crime is. First-degree crimes include murder, manslaughter, or rape. When an individual commits a first-degree crime, they may face 10 years to life in prison. Crimes that are classified as second-degree can include arson, robbery, and aggravated sexual assault. These offenders may face anywhere between 5 to 10 years in prison.
When charged with a violent crime in New Jersey, it is crucial to understand New Jersey’s No Early Release Act. This is a law that requires a criminal offender to serve no less than 85% of their criminal sentence before being considered for parole. This may be enacted depending on the severity of the crime that was committed.
A person can be charged with a simple criminal charge. With this, they may face fines and maximum jail time as a penalty. It is also possible for a charge to be upgraded from a simple crime to an aggravated crime. This may be the case if the assault involved a weapon or caused a very serious injury. When this happens, the offender may face 5 to 10 years in prison, an increase in fines, and the possibility of being subjected to the No Early Release Act.
If you or someone you know needs legal assistance in obtaining a gun permit, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway today.