close search ×
A breathalyzer device next to a full mug of beer and car keys on a white background, representing the connection between alcohol consumption and driving. This setup highlights the importance of breathalyzer test validity in ensuring

Drugged Driving Penalties in New Jersey | What to Know

Although driving under the influence of drugs is known to be illegal, unfortunately, it does not stop people from doing it. Not only are the consequences harsh, but the long-term effects can be even worse. If you are faced with drugged driving charges, reach out to our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to discuss your options. The attorneys at The Law Office of Attorney Conway are committed to supporting you and your rights.

What are the consequences of one drugged driving offense in New Jersey?

If you are facing your first offense of a drug DWI, you may be subject to the following penalties:

  • A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension between 7 and 12 months
  • $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and additional fees
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device

If you were charged with a drugged driving offense, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm and retain an experienced criminal defense lawyer to evaluate your options.

What if I get a second drugged driving offense?

If you are charged with a second offense of a drug DUI, your consequences will be even harsher. Some of the penalties you may face include:

  • Fines between $500 and $1000
  • Incarceration for at least 48 hours, but no more than 90 days
  • 30 days of community service (if the offense took place in a school zone, then 60 days)
  • Driver’s license suspension for 2 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for between 1 and 3 years after license restoration
  • Several other fees and fines

What penalties will I face for three or more offenses of drugged driving?

If you are caught for the third or subsequent drug DUI, you will face penalties and long-term consequences beyond your jail time and fines. The penalties are as follows:

  • A $1000 fine
  • Incarceration for at least 180 days
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Various mandatory fines and fees
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

What should I do if I am charged with drugged driving?

No matter how many offenses you have for drugged driving, it is important to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. These charges can be very serious and have detrimental impacts on your future endeavors. A criminal defense attorney can work to lower or remove your charges and penalties. Contact The Law Office of Attorney Conway today to speak with one of our experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorneys.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by