close search ×
A person making an unsafe lane change while driving a car during sunset, viewed from the backseat, showing one hand on the steering wheel and a GPS navigation screen lit up.

What is a Hardship License in New Jersey? | What You Should Know

A hardship license can be granted to an individual who has a revoked or suspended license. It is important to note, however, that not all states offer these restricted licenses. Continue reading and reach out to our skilled Bergen County criminal defense attorney today to learn about whether or not you are eligible to receive a hardship license in New Jersey.

What is a hardship license?

A hardship license is granted by a court to a person who has a suspended or revoked license after being charged with a DUI and has basic needs for driving. Generally, those who are awarded a hardship license are only permitted to use their cars to travel to work, school, or a doctor’s appointment.

Am I able to obtain a hardship license in New Jersey?

It is important to recognize that in the state of New Jersey, hardship licenses are not awarded by courts. A New Jersey driver who has lost their driving privileges as a result of a DUI or DWI is not allowed to operate a vehicle until their time has been served. After a DUI or DWI, a driver will lose their license for a minimum of three months in the state of New Jersey.

What causes a license suspension?

There are a number of different reasons for license suspensions in New Jersey. The most typical causes for a license suspension or revocation include the following:

  • DWI/DUI conviction
  • Refusal to take a breathalyzer test
  • Traffic offenses
  • Mental or physical condition
  • Failure to pay fines or court fees
  • Failure to provide proof of motor vehicle insurance
  • Abandoning a vehicle on a public highway

What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey?

The penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license are severe in the state of New Jersey. The consequences for each offense include the following:

  • First Offense: Extension to a license suspension that cannot exceed six months and a fine of $500
  • Second Offense: Possible incarceration in the county jail for no longer than five days, possible extension of license suspension by up to six months, and a fine of $750
  • Third Offense: 10 days in county jail, possible extension of license suspension for up to six months, and a fine of $1,000

Do not wait to reach out to our firm as soon as possible if you were charged with a DUI or DWI in New Jersey. Our legal team is on your side and can assess your case and arise at the best solution for you and your future.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by