close search ×
A white sports car drifting recklessly on a dusty road in New Jersey, leaving a trail of dust behind, with blurred trees and buildings in the background under a clear sky.

Reckless Driving in New Jersey | What You Should Know

Reckless driving penalties can result in a lifetime of burdens. Do not wait to reach out to our firm today to discuss your legal options. With the help of a Bergen County traffic ticket attorney, you can feel confident knowing that your future is in good hands. Contact us today to get started.

How does New Jersey define reckless driving?

In the state of New Jersey, a person can be charged with a reckless driving ticket for a number of different reasons. Reckless driving in New Jersey refers to when someone is driving a vehicle “heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger a person’s property.” This implies that you can receive a ticket for driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Furthermore, you can be charged with driving recklessly if you damage another property with your vehicle.

If you have been charged with a reckless driving ticket, you will need to reach out to our firm today to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Our legal team is on your side.

What are the penalties for reckless driving?

You will likely face harsh, life-altering consequences if you have been charged with reckless driving. When it comes to this offense, the penalties will increase as the amount of further charges increases. With this charge, you may face jail time for up to three months, fines of up to $500, and a license suspension. Also, you will want to note that reckless driving tickets can also add a 5-point violation to your driver’s license record, which can result in a large spike in insurance premiums and a long license suspension.

What will happen if I accumulate points on my driver’s license?

Once you obtain points on your license, you will likely find that your insurance premium will increase. This further indicates that a reckless driving charge can cause you months and even years of consequences. It is also important to recognize that if an individual collects six or more points on their license within three years, they will likely need to pay a $150 fine.

Do not hesitate to contact our experienced New Jersey firm today if you have been charged with reckless driving. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to ensuring that you and your future are defended.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by