close search ×
dwi charge new jersey

Thanksgiving Eve is the Most Dangerous Night of the Year for Drivers

For many, the night before Thanksgiving is the wildest night of the year. Students who have been away at college are returning to their hometowns and reunited with their friends for the first time in months. Many choose to celebrate this reunion with a night of drinking and crowd bars and clubs. As a result, Thanksgiving Eve has been nicknamed “Drinksgiving” and “Blackout Wednesday.” Things become dangerous when these party-goers hit the road after a night of drinking. Read on to learn more about DWI charges in New Jersey.

First Offense DWI Consequences

Drivers pulled over for a DWI for the first time with a blood alcohol content that is between .08-.09%  may face the following consequences:

  • License suspension until the date of installation of the ignition interlock device, then the interlock device remains on the vehicle for 3 months
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of jail time

If it is your first offense and you have a BAC of .10% or higher, you may face the above penalties in addition to the following consequences:

  • You will most likely lose your license for up to 45 days
  • You may spend up to 30 days in jail
  • You will most likely have to pay a fine between $250-$500
  • You will have to spend between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device for between 6 months and 1 year, at your own cost

What if I am Pulled Over for a DWI Underage?

DWI consequences are serious for anybody, but especially for those who are under the age of 21 and are not yet legally allowed to consume or purchase alcohol. In these situations, the individual is breaking more than one law, so their penalties increase. If an intoxicated driver is under the age of 21 and has a blood alcohol content that is greater than 0.01 percent, they can be charged with an underage DWI. This can result in:

  • License suspension between 30 and 90 days
  • Community service for 15-30 days
  • Participation at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Fines

A DWI is a charge that is taken seriously in New Jersey. If you or a loved one is charged with a DWI this Thanksgiving weekend, you should reach out to a skilled criminal defense attorney to discuss your case.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by