close search ×
A red sedan in motion, captured with a slow shutter speed to create a motion blur effect, speeding along a city street lined with modern buildings in an unsafe lane.

The Consequences of Unsafe Lane Changes in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey takes traffic violations very seriously. With that being said, if you were charged with an unsafe lane change or any other traffic violation, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to speak with a skilled Bergen County traffic ticket attorney today. We are committed to ensuring you and your future are protected.

What is an unsafe lane change?

In New Jersey, when an individual obtains their driver’s license, they are entrusted to handle their vehicle with care. There are numerous different actions that can be deemed dangerous driving, such as unsafe lane changes. This is a common traffic violation that is seen on the roads in the state of New Jersey. It is described under NJSA 39:4-88 as:

“…a vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely with a single lane and shall not be moved from that lane until the driver has ascertained that the movement can be made with safety.”

Furthermore, when a highway is divided into numerous lanes, a vehicle shall not be driving in the left lane except when overtaking or passing another vehicle, while preparing to make a left turn, or if the center lane is at the time allocated for traffic moving in the direction the vehicle is proceeding and is signposted to give notice of that allocation.

What are the consequences of an unsafe lane change?

Note that the state of New Jersey does not take traffic violations lightly. Because of this, those engaging in unsafe lane changes can face certain penalties as a result of their actions including the following:

  • 2 points on their driver’s license for each offense. If the driver accumulates 6 points or more, they can be required to pay a surcharge of $150 each year, with an additional $25 for each point over 6 points, for three years.
  • A fine between $50 and $200 for each offense. This can be doubled if the offense is committed in a safe corridor, construction zone, or 65-mph zone.
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 15 days

You won’t want to underestimate the effects of an unsafe lane change charge, as points on your license can cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket, especially if you already had points prior to the offense. This indicates that you will be paying for this offense for years down the line. Also, and rather clearly, if you spend time in jail, you will then have a criminal record that can follow you for years, and even for life. There is nothing more burdensome than a record stating you went to jail, and nobody ever wants to check “yes” in the box that asks them if they’ve ever been arrested.


If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by