close search ×
A wooden gavel lies next to an open, small briefcase displaying a set of brass scales on a wooden table, symbolizing law and justice in New Jersey.

Theft Vs. Robbery Penalties in New Jersey

New Jersey courts harshly pursue all those charged with theft-related crimes. If you are currently facing criminal charges, please read on to learn more. Here are some of the questions you may have:

How does New Jersey law define theft crimes?

Theft is essentially when a person intentionally deprives another of their property, though without the use of violence. For example, extortion, shoplifting, or theft by deception, though unsavory, are not “violent,” so to speak.

What happens if I am charged with a theft crime in New Jersey?

  • Theft (Disorderly Persons Offense): Up to 6 months incarceration, though only up to 30 days in jail you are convicted of a petty disorderly persons offense. You may also have to pay additional fines.
  • Fourth Degree Theft (for property stolen worth more $200, though less than $500): You may spend to 18 months in jail, face a $10,000 fine, or double the amount of the victim’s loss
  • Third Degree Theft (for property stolen worth more than $500, though less than $75,000, or the theft of a firearm, motor vehicle, boat, and more: Up to 5 years incarceration and a $15,000 fine, or double the amount of the victim’s loss
  • Second Degree Theft (for property stolen worth $75,000 or more, committing an act of extortion, or the theft of 1 kilogram or more of a controlled substance): Up to 10 years incarceration, plus a potential $150,000 fine, or double the amount of the victim’s loss

How does New Jersey define robbery?

Though robbery is a form of theft, it is an escalated charge, meaning while committing the act of theft, you also employ the use of violence, or a threat of violence, either by use of a deadly weapon or otherwise. These charges are often more serious than standard theft, or petty larceny charges.

What are the penalties for robbery in New Jersey?

  • Robbery in the Second Degree: This usually comes with a 5-10-year prison sentence.
  • Robbery in the First Degree: Robbery in the first degree is when a person, while committing a theft, either attempts to kill another person or inflict serious bodily injury upon that person, commits or threatens to commit a crime of the first or second degree, or is armed with a weapon and threatens to use it. First-degree robbery comes with a 10-20-year prison sentence.

Contact our experienced Bergen County firm

Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by