close search ×
Three semi-trucks on a curving road in New Jersey, surrounded by lush greenery, bathed in warm sunlight during sunset.

What Are the Consequences of Commercial DWIs in New Jersey?

Commercial DWIs can have detrimental effects on those who have been charged. If you are in this unfortunate situation, do not wait to reach out to our skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorneys today to get started on your case.

What is considered a commercial vehicle in New Jersey?

A vehicle must meet certain qualifications in the state of New Jersey in order for it to be considered a commercial vehicle. Additionally, if an individual drives any of the following vehicles, they will be eligible to receive a commercial license:

  • A truck with double or triple trailers
  • A truck with a tank
  • A truck carrying hazardous materials
  • A passenger vehicle

If you have questions or concerns about what may qualify as a commercial vehicle or what merits a commercial driver’s license, do not hesitate to reach out to our firm to learn more.

What is the difference between a commercial DWI and a regular DWI?

It is important to understand that commercial vehicle drivers are held to a higher standard of responsibility, which indicates that they may face more severe penalties if charged with a commercial license DWI. Those who have a regular driver’s license can face DWI charges if they are pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. However, if an individual is operating a commercial vehicle, he or she can be charged with a DWI if their blood alcohol concentration is .04% or higher.

What are the consequences of commercial DWIs in New Jersey?

Because New Jersey takes commercial DWI offenses very seriously, you can expect life-altering consequences. If this is your first offense and you were pulled over by law enforcement with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or higher, you will likely face the following penalties:

  • A 3-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • A 1-year CDL license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours at the intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to $400 in fines

It is also essential to note that if you are pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration of .10% or higher, you will face even more serious consequences. If this is your second offense, you may lose your license, which can have negative effects on those who drive a commercial vehicle for a living. If you have been charged, do not hesitate to reach out to our firm today. Our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys have the knowledge required to fight on behalf of you and your future.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by