close search ×
A close-up view of lush cannabis plants in New Jersey, with vibrant green leaves filling the frame.

What Are The Penalties For Drugged Driving in New Jersey?

Drunk driving is a serious issue. What many people do not realize is that drugged driving is a prevalent issue as well. Drugged driving may be discussed less, but it occurs often and is incredibly dangerous. As a result, a drug DWI charge can carry some serious consequences. Read on to learn more about the penalties of a drug DWI charge in New Jersey.

First Offense Drug DWI

If you are facing charges for a first-offense Drug DWI, you may be subject to the following penalties:

  • A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension between 7 and 12 months
  • $1,000 surcharge each year for 3 years
  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device

Second Offense Drug DWI

It is important to note that if you are pulled over and charged with drugged driving for a second time, your penalties will further increase. Some of the penalties you may face for a second offense drug DWI include:

  • Fines between $500 and $1000
  • Incarceration for at least 48 hours but no more than 90 days
  • 30 days of community services (if the offense took place in a school zone, 60 days)
  • Drivers license suspension for 2 years
  • Installation of ignition interlock device for between 1 and 3 years after license restoration
  • Several other fees and fines

Third or Subsequent Offense Drug DWI

If you are charged with a third or subsequent drug DWI, you will face serious penalties. The penalties are as follows:

  • A $1000 fine
  • Incarceration for at least 180 days
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Various mandatory fines and fees
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device

What Do I Do if I am Charged With Drugged Driving

If you are facing a drugged driving charge, you will want to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney. These charges are serious, but an attorney will work to lower or remove your charges and associated penalties.

If you or a loved one has been pulled over for drugged driving, contact our firm today. We will explore all possible avenues and legal defenses. Do not hesitate to reach out and speak with an experienced and dedicated criminal defense attorney.


Kevin T. Conway is an experienced Bergen County criminal attorney handling DUI, DWI, traffic violations, violent crimes, sex crimes, illegal gun possession, shoplifting, and juvenile crimes. Attorney Conway is also experienced in commercial law matters, zoning law, and estate planning. If you need an aggressive criminal lawyer, contact The Law Office of Kevin T. Conway for a free consultation.

Our Recent Blogs
Read More Blogs
Website Designed & Managed by